Skip to content

A quick ‘Hello’ from the BL

21 June, 2013

I have SO MUCH I want to write about. Sadly, I need to use my BL time wisely, as I am OMG trying to write a paper for next week, and I have only a couple of hours today and Monday left before I leave for the conference!! Obviously, I have the weekend, but it just ended up that the weekend I’d planned to keep free for writing the paper ended up being the weekend best suited for a family visit…

Anyway, here are things in the works…

a lot on the 19th C and how it has shaped what we do.

something on degrees in the humanities

the AHA’s new curriculum suggestions, and how different they are from the scarily bad Michael Gove plan

thoughts triggered by Historian on the Edge’s “Crisis of the State” post.

And probably, by the time I get round to it, Leeds.

Bis bald, Leut’

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 June, 2013 3:28 pm

    WANT to be in the BL. This is the first summer in ages that I haven’t spent at least a little time in the UK—I’m supposed to be hunkering down and finishing things, not starting new research—and it feels all wrong. I’m craving English breakfasts, hours in the BL (or Bod or CUL), walks along rivers, tea-rooms in medieval basements, all the experiences that I have started to think of as what I do in the summer.

    Good luck with the paper, and have fun at Leeds!

  2. 22 June, 2013 12:12 am

    Yes, have fun!

  3. 24 June, 2013 7:32 am

    We’ve now fixed the bloggers’ meetup for Leeds at Monday 9 pm, which I hope you can make. Sorry for not contacting you directly, but the ADM hotmail address seems to be refusing my e-mails.

your thoughts?

