Skip to content

Two (unrelated) things: Big Berks disappoints and Bloggers meet at the Zoo

3 May, 2012

First, I am really tired of feeling marginalized and discounted by a conference that seems to go out of its way to include any number of things that may be only tangentially related to Women’s History

Duuuude. As a woman and a historian, I’m one of the people the organization was supposedly created to represent. As someone who works on women’s history, and who finds that a huge problem with understanding the Early Middle Ages resides in how many really bad assumptions about women and gender have shaped the scholarship, I would like to think that the sort of questions I work on would be appropriate for a conference on the history of women. And yet, there is ABSOFUCKINGLUTELY NOTHING in the announcement that makes me feel that the sort of thing I work on has any value (or even recognition as history) in the eyes of the organizers.

And by the way, when did it become necessary for all historians to become Theory-driven rather than theory-using? Because no one copied me on that memo.

Second, Kalamazoo meet-up will be at the regularly scheduled wine hour — i.e., BEFORE the evening panels, so we can go and SEE our bloggy friends — in whatever the hell Valley it is that has registration. Contributions towards beer, wine, and food will be gratefully accepted. I will check the schedule and the availability of vehicle to see whether decent snacks are possible or whether we will order pizza. Socializing can continue after the panels 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 May, 2012 4:32 pm

    Will there be a specific place announced for this meetup?

  2. 3 May, 2012 5:20 pm

    Wow, ADM. I’m so out of it that this Berks news comes as a complete surprise to me. I’ll need to re-read that CFP and think about it some more. The “Histoires sur la Breche” concept sounds potentially broad and inclusive, but I also completely agree with your immediate reaction, too. The word “women” is nowhere in the CFP aside from the formal title of the conference! It seems like a CFP that could have been written for just about any history conference–AHA, CHA, American Studies, whatever.

    Thanks so much for pasting on this.

    • 3 May, 2012 5:21 pm

      Er, POSTING on this, I mean!

    • 5 May, 2012 3:51 pm

      I’ve had a reply from the chair of the organization via a friend involved. I’m waiting to see if I can post it. I wasn’t all that impressed, largely because it told me about panels that were being considered that would be relevant, but didn’t address the larger question of how the wording of the CFP was not inclusive — and the way I read it, implied that objections were based on including non-European stuff, which is not the case. There was also a line that I simply didn’t understand, so would love to see what others think.

  3. historisusan permalink
    3 May, 2012 6:14 pm

    Just think what a difference it would have made if the CFP had included as a margin not just geographical regions, but temporal ones? The blindness of the recent historians. And you (especially) and others made a real effort to reach out to the planners for this one after the last Berks, so it’s not as if they weren’t alerted to this issue. It drives me nuts when the guiding conceptual frameworks are from the modern world, and we are interesting as long as we fit into those.

  4. 3 May, 2012 9:34 pm

    No kidding. I’m horrified by the exclusion of theory-practicing historians in so many areas. That they’d not have a place for YOU? Insane.

  5. J Liedl permalink
    4 May, 2012 12:11 am

    The CFP seems much too twee. And we’re still trying to puzzle out the terminology of the French title. It doesn’t mean the same thing as the English, at the very least.

    I said elsewhere that I can still find a spot for me and my scholarship here if I ignore the blather at the top and look at the topic areas below. But you really shouldn’t have to do that with a CFP.

  6. 4 May, 2012 7:03 am

    Wine hour… which day is that? And where?

your thoughts?

