Skip to content

Call for Kalamazoo blogger meet-up ideas

16 April, 2012

Hi all,

it’s that time when we start figuring out when we will meet at the zoo. In the past, we’ve met at 8:15 am-ish on Friday in a coffee place. But frankly, I am ready to give the Early Medievalists’ dinner a miss this year. I really, really enjoy seeing some of the people, and the organizer is a fantastic colleague, but I can’t afford to spend that much on a mediocre dinner, especially if I go to the SMFS dinner, too. So I will be free Thursday evening, and wonder if anyone would like to have an evening blogger meet-up? We could take the shuttle from campus downtown, and reserve a table somewhere there, or we could meet in a dorm and send out for pizza, I expect…

Thoughts?

Please pass on the link, and comment below. I’ll link to this in subsequent posts.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 April, 2012 3:30 pm

    I think it’s a good idea to NOT meet in the early morning, as I can never do those [being a night-owl], and Thursday evenings are generally good. This year, however, postmedieval was scheduled in the 7:30 pm evening slot on Thursday night and we’re going out with all of the panelists afterward to The Wine Loft in downtown Kalamazoo, SO … I send my regrets! OR: you can all crash us at The Wine Loft?

  2. deajuni permalink
    16 April, 2012 3:43 pm

    I have meeting space in the Fox ‘apartment’, if people don’t care to go out, and vehicle if take-away that isn’t delivered is preferred over pizza. (Martini’s pizza is, IMO, worlds better than Bilbos!) And a full-sized fridge, for stashing consumables.

  3. 16 April, 2012 6:16 pm

    I’m probably available Thursday evening–my plans aren’t entirely set yet–and I expect to have a car.

  4. 16 April, 2012 6:52 pm

    Too pregnant to go this year! (Insert pout.) I’m already pining for the book exhibit….

  5. 16 April, 2012 9:56 pm

    An evening do is much better for me for the same reasons as Eileen. I think Thursday evening is good with me as are other times.

  6. 16 April, 2012 11:36 pm

    I’m getting in thursday evening, but probably wouldn’t be there until between 8-9 p.m. Still, if that happens, count me in.

  7. 16 April, 2012 11:49 pm

    I’m fine with mornings, but in the evening I’d prefer a dorm get-together to trying to cram all the bloggers into a restaurant. The noise level would be godawful in all the restaurants I can think of, and it’s harder to circulate and talk to different people if you’re all seated at a table.

  8. 17 April, 2012 5:53 am

    I’m an apol for the zoo this year, so I will miss the pleasure of your company. 😦
    My two cents is you can’t miss the SMFS dinner – always a tasty classic!

  9. 17 April, 2012 3:56 pm

    I’m getting really sorry I shan’t be there this year. Please, wherever the meet-up finally is, send my apologies to the gathering!

  10. 18 April, 2012 5:04 pm

    I won’t be there this year, but I were, I’d totally prefer a Thursday evening to the morning coffee that became the norm in past years. (Just for the record, that choice was the voice of the people at the time when I set up the first one I did lo these many years ago.)

  11. 22 April, 2012 6:30 pm

    Two votes (myself and Vellum) for Thursday evening! We can’t make the Friday morning one this year (for reasons other than being hungover, heh). I’ll second Dame EH’s dorm get-together preference, as well.

  12. 25 April, 2012 3:48 pm

    Sounds good to me.

Trackbacks

  1. For my colleague at A Corner of Tenth Century Europe « Blogenspiel

your thoughts?

