Skip to content

In which I have some new heroes

30 November, 2011

At the moment, my immediate heroes are my friend at Tenth Medieval, Historian on the Edge (and occasionally, his Doktorvater), AW, the Improbable Southerner, my colleague Surfer Dude, Notorious, PhD, Janice, New Kid, and Meg.

You (especially) have all helped me get through a couple of very tough weeks, and I’m very grateful.

Update: I must now add Captain Apocalypse to the list. He’s actually checking something for me that will replace a “you know, I realize now I should have looked into this possibility, but didn’t have time,” note — or at least will let me know whether I need to drive to one of two large university libraries on Saturday, either of which will take the entire day.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 November, 2011 10:53 pm

    We HAVE to help you get through… because we need you around.

    By the way: does the past tense mean you *are* through? If so: Balloon drop for ADM!!

    • 1 December, 2011 2:53 pm

      Notorious, not so much — but the deadline got extended by enough that I might get it in. Also, will send you what I owe you later today!

  2. J Liedl permalink
    1 December, 2011 12:55 am

    *hugs*

    You are pretty awesome yourself, you know that?

    • 1 December, 2011 3:00 pm

      Thanks! But if that’s true, it’s in part because I have some amazing friends and colleagues who make me want to live up to their examples.

  3. 1 December, 2011 1:24 am

    Wow, well thanks ADM but I’m not sure I deserve it since I’ve been behind some of the pressure! But I tell you: I have never had so many people thank me for missing a deadline as in the last few hours! You’re right: somehow, everyone’s had the kind of term you can’t ever escape while it’s happening…

    • 1 December, 2011 2:58 pm

      Jonathan, I think that’s true. Just reading people’s writing group posts, and talking to colleagues elsewhere indicates it to me that it’s an epidemic.

      I don’t see you as being behind the pressure, though. It just happened that the project got shuffled to where it took a low priority (which was not down to you), and when it got resurrected, it just wasn’t at the best time. It happens.

  4. 1 December, 2011 6:12 am

    Awwww, didn’t do anything, but any time!

  5. 1 December, 2011 7:29 am

    Hope you got through everything you needed to get through!

  6. 1 December, 2011 4:38 pm

    Gosh. Well, whatever it was that I did, I’m glad I did it…

    • 2 December, 2011 4:17 am

      I am, too. And I don’t have exactly the right words to explain why, because it sounds really lame out loud. But it is one of those, ‘easier to believe you can do things if people you like and respect don’t seem to doubt that you can,” things.

      • Kath permalink
        9 December, 2011 10:56 am

        Not just easier to believe… but also actually easier to do!

        I *love* it when those things happen.

Trackbacks

  1. Leeds 2011 report 1, with bonus apology « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

your thoughts?

