Skip to content

Another weekend, over

14 November, 2011

So I’m doing another placeholder post because stuff is not done.

Guess what? I beat Notorious, PhD on the “where the hell are those first drafts??” track. Fully 45% of my students in one class turned in nothing. We will not discuss how many did not follow directions. That is a post unto itself. I think it’s part of the larger issues I want to discuss in the Grafton post, and tying back to “my students don’t understand the words I use.” Actually, I had a light-bulb moment this week, and now thinking of ways to re-structure this semester’s new prep. I want to teach it again next fall, but that would mean four preps. No effing way. But I think that the person who does teach it will be up for incorporating the changes.

Also? Haven’t written a Grafton post. Maybe tomorrow night.

There’s also a post I want to write about how teaching World History may have tweaked the ways I think about Medieval History. Not a lot, but in small things that might not be small. For example, the concept of Polygamy. H.o.t.Edge and I disagree on whether or not the Merovingians practiced polygamy. He says no, I say yes. I also think we need to re-think how we see it, not purely so we can understand the Merovingians better (although that’s always good), but also because I think that the way we see polygamy and define it in historical terms — and how it plays out in places other than Western Christendom — is very important for understanding a lot of feminist issues, most especially that of perpetuating a patriarchal system.

Yes. That was me arguing for political histories, or something very near it. Feminist political histories. Even though I disagree with H.o.t.Edge on that, too.

Sort of.

But I have class in less than ten hours and am still not quite ready.

So more on those things later. In the meantime. I wrote something today. I wrote lots of comments on drafts that were nowhere near ready to distribute for peer review. I wrote a rubric. I wrote this. In all, I wrote about 2000 words.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 14 November, 2011 2:40 pm

    “Yes. That was me arguing for political histories, or something very near it. Feminist political histories. Even though I disagree with H.o.t.Edge on that, too.”

    Come on then. Bring it on! 😉

your thoughts?

