Skip to content

Things

12 November, 2011

Another Damned Writing Group has made it through another week, here.

I am in a cafe working. There is a guitarist playing Bach. Rather than listening, people are talking about how wonderful it is to have music.

What I have to do this weekend:

Go over 12 paper drafts. There should be 16, but some of my students are not bothering to turn in work.

Go over 26 short pre-writing assignments – easy grading, in a way, because it’s minus/check/plus and I have a rubric loaded into Blackboard.

Finish the report from hell

Write a letter to new admits, because if I don’t, Superdean has threatened to make me sit in his office till it’s done.

Finish assessment reports, because (see above)

Work on Special Project, because I have to present something on it this week

Prep classes

Rake all the leaves to the front of the property (this will take about 2 1/2 hours), because the city trucks are coming to hoover them all up this week

Mark several discussion boards

Read at least part of a book I’m meant to review. This is the thing I’m doing for myself. w00t.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 12 November, 2011 11:45 pm

    Wow. That’s a lot of things. But “yay” for cafe and guitar music?

  2. Kim permalink
    13 November, 2011 11:36 pm

    Oooh, rubric on blackboard! Care to share – I’m always looking for easier ways to grade 🙂

  3. J Liedl permalink
    14 November, 2011 12:08 am

    I ♥ rubrics – they make explaining and calculating marks an easier task so I can concentrate more on helping the students in comments, instead. I wish we could find time in a bottle so you could spend a bigger chunk on things that are just for you, though!

  4. 14 November, 2011 4:13 am

    Blackboard has a new rubric tool, Kim. You can build rubrics that are specific to single assignments, or that are the same for any number of assignments, associate them with the assignments, and use them. THEY WILL CALCULATE THE GRADES FOR YOU! AND PUT THEM IN THE GRADE BOOK!

    And the students can see them, and you can add individual feedback…

    The one thing I’m having trouble with is the ones where I have a “gate” that all assignments have to get past. That’s a little trickier to set up, but it works.

    JAnice, you are so sweet. You are at least as busy as I am — you just have the slight advantage/disadvantage of a family, too!

your thoughts?

