Skip to content

NaBloPoMo 2

3 November, 2011

Just a quick aside — something from my day that was nice. In my first class this morning, one of my students looked at me and said, after I answered her question with a question: “Why do you always have to make me think?” It was clearly not meant as an insult. And people laughed.

Meetings with students on papers today were not glorious, but far better than Monday. Monday was dire. Two students didn’t show, and the ones who did had not actually done any of the things I’d asked them to do, so that, 2/3 into the term, they did not have viable papers begun. One did have something like a start, but …

Today, students had actual work done, but it was all over the place. Still not paying attention, and not coming to ask for help. But all the papers could be narrowed down and re-focused.

Another short and late entry, but I am bound to write something. So here’s my work day to-do list for tomorrow:

Car to shop
Meet advisee to talk about schedule

Added: email Provost to beg him to let stu into his class, as she doesn’t have a pre-req, but also should be able to handle it, and dammit, stu wants to be a medievalist and it’s a medieval topic!
Work on special project for meeting in afternoon
check in on discussion boards
update course blog with comments
review assignments for all classes for Friday and next week
Send email about field trip
Review progress reports for class 1
draft two unpleasant letters for professional thing

ADDED: read approximately ten twenty-five new emails to incorporate new events into letter

vote in SMFS election
meet other student to talk about midterm grade
email advisee who has gone missing and has turned in nothing in two courses
make appointment with minor advisee

email colleague in other school to find out if I am meeting with him and a joint student to work out a course plan

post poll for professional thing
choose rubrics to re-create in Blackboard for pre-presentation meeting next week
prep for Friday
comment on different procedural draft for professional thing
comment on another proposal for professional thing
collect goals for this week’s writing group post
write this week’s writing group post
collect ticket from colleague for charity thing that might be on Friday?
check on liability info for field trip
email advisees who have not yet planned schedules
pick up Rx
finish reading an article I meant to finish (also counts towards paper)
meeting on special project 75 minutes
mark three quizzes (sets of, not individual)
enter grades for three quizzes
enter recent participation grades
check in with SD about departmental thing and other departmental thing and also non-departmental thing that is causing a stir in the department
Check to see if I have to delegate something in professional thing to someone else, even though those things are not actually my job, because ultimately, they are my responsibility.
Argh! Email other student, but check first to make sure he is actually my advisee. Although I have a feeling he’s not going to give me a choice in the matter.
Check to see if the work study student has finished the project I gave her.
Check in with my work study student on the reading I set her. Awesome student finished, and I now need to order those books!

Those are the things that HAVE to be done. Not counting laundry and picking up milk at the store.and some other personal stuff. And reading some Frankish history.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    3 November, 2011 6:07 am

    I am exhausted looking at your list. I know many of them may be relatively quick, but that doesn’t stop me from being tired just thinking about it~

    • 3 November, 2011 2:21 pm

      Susan, I’m sure many of your days are like this, too. But this is why I cannot wait to step down from the professional thing. At the moment, one of the people who *should* be helping share a good bit of the load seems completely uninterested. Since I took the job based on the teamwork I saw with my predecessors, it’s been a bit disheartening.

  2. Sisyphus permalink
    3 November, 2011 6:29 pm

    Oy. That’s quite a list.

  3. 3 November, 2011 11:34 pm

    I’m with Susan; when do you schedule a pee? Congrats on the ‘thinking’ moment. I love those! I had something very similar last night, but night classes kick my ass and I didn’t even think about sharing it.

  4. 4 November, 2011 3:57 am

    Without even reading this, I managed to post something very similar today. It is the list-making portion of the semester, it seems.

your thoughts?

