Skip to content

NaNoBloPo(mo?) day 1

2 November, 2011

Hey — I have 6 minutes left.

The other day, someone I know passed on the information, via LDW, that I was quoted in the THE the other day. Kinda cool. So I told a couple of people: Provost (have I mentioned he’s a medievalist?), Surf Instructor, and PoCo Woman, both colleagues who are indeed cool people. This morning, PCG said she liked my writing style (a compliment, since she’s a lit person), and reminded me that writing is writing.

So as part of my writing group work, I’m going to try posting something every day this month. I definitely have three larger posts in mind: one on collegiality; one a response to Hot Edge’s post likening the historian’s work to Internal Affairs; and the promised one on teaching/research/gender. I’m hoping this will keep me sane, rather than adding to the pressure. It’s been a hell of a week so far, and it’s only Tuesday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    2 November, 2011 5:23 am

    Congratulations on fame (though alas being quoted does not lead to fortune…)

  2. 2 November, 2011 12:00 pm

    Congrats on the THE quote etc. But … er… Why not write something towards an article/book/publication etc every day instead? Dare I say displacement???

    • 2 November, 2011 2:43 pm

      Yes, you dare! And I appreciate the comment. I think about that, too. But I think one might lead to the other. One of the things that makes it difficult for me to settle is dealing with a bunch of really stupid things. I worry about them, and I sometimes cannot distance myself from them and move on. They are often things I can’t talk about in detail, but blogging about them in the abstract helps me to understand the underlying issues better and let go. I am hoping that what gets displaced is not writing time, but fretting time.

      We’ll see… if it doesn’t work, I’ll drop it.

your thoughts?

