Skip to content

Just a quick break to say…

24 September, 2011

Living where I do, people tend to talk about being blessed with things. It’s a sort of overt religiousity (is that a word?) that makes me uncomfortable.

So I’m not going to say I am blessed. But there are times that I feel incredibly grateful. I went to a colleague’s house last night, and was reminded that I have some great friends here. And I have some amazing friends via this blog. I am so very fortunate to know you, and I am constantly confused as to how I might ever have managed to deserve you.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 September, 2011 12:39 am

    If we got what we truly deserved, most of us would be in a shit-ton of trouble. Thank the gods that life usually treats us better than that.

  2. 25 September, 2011 12:50 am

    Use every man after his deserts, and who would ‘scape whipping? But since we’re all in the same boat, then we wind up deserving each other!

  3. Susan permalink
    25 September, 2011 5:30 am

    I’m not sure who deserves what, as Notorious and Dame Eleanor have suggested. But even just watching you host this writing group, it’s obvious that you have a warm heart and a generous spirit, and surely that “deserves” to be repaid in whatever ways people can do it. I think of blessings as things that come unasked, and “undeserved” (because whatever our religious position, we still think this way!)

    • 25 September, 2011 6:12 am

      yeah .. there is that grace thing, isn’t there? And honestly, if any one thing about Christianity gives me hope, it’s the idea of grace granted to all, absolutely.

  4. 25 September, 2011 6:37 pm

    I can’t say it better than the folks above, so I’ll leave it at “yeah, what they said”! And, along the lines of Susan’s comment, I’ll add that you are clearly a good friend to others, so it’s hardly surprising that people want to be good friends to you.

  5. 4 October, 2011 12:41 pm

    It’s because you give without stint and ask for little or nothing in return. That’s probably why you have so many friends but it’s also certainly why you deserve good ones.

your thoughts?

