Skip to content

Signal Boost — looking for a Leeds panelist, and a bleg for a panel

2 September, 2011

Passing this on for a friend:

Looking for a third speaker for Leeds 2012. Does anyone out there know of someone working on the letters of Fromund of Tegernsee who might be interested in presenting in a session on conventions of letter writing at Tegernsee in the 11th and 12th centuries? Contact Kathleen Neal or Diana Jeske at Monash University ASAP!

Also, my brain is still dead-ish, and I should be looking for a Leeds panel. I’m thinking of looking at my usual (these days) topic, but applying it to a different monastery, possibly Mondsee or Freising. Or maybe Lorsch, because Lorsch is so accessible. So if you know of a gender or charter panel that needs a paper, please let me know. I want to work on this as part of a larger project, but at the moment I’m swamped in reading for one entirely new prep and two where I’ve changed things so substantially they might as well be new.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 4 September, 2011 5:44 pm

    There’s more material at Freising, but you know that already. Though, perhaps not for your enquiry? I’m actually quite happy not necessarily to have to think about Leeds this year. I’ll go, of course, and if someone asks me I have a paper topic, but I’m really glad not to be organising and loath for that to change.

    • 5 September, 2011 9:35 pm

      Actually, one of my friends pointed out that, after having the mini-breakdown from last year’s departmental stresses and an incredibly heavy load, I might want to use this year to clear up old projects and put together a strategy and research plan for the next couple of years. So I might simply put my name forward to chair a couple of panels. But then I think… by July I should be working on something new, so Leeds should be on the agenda. I suppose I can always wait till the CFPs come out, or hope for a substitute panel. I just don’t want to lose momentum

      • 6 September, 2011 3:57 pm

        I am thinking in similar wise, really. (And will eventually post about this.) The last few years I have been increasingly strapped for conference papers and have had less and less time to research and write them. Meanwhile stubs of papers pile up that are not ready for submission. I must clear house. I do have new things to work on, that’s not the problem, the problem is that I never get to them! And by next year, at least, I shall need to be able to tell people that they exist and are in progress etc. So I think really, fewer conference papers. But I’m still going, wouldn’t miss Leeds for the world especially while someone else will pay.

    • 5 September, 2011 9:36 pm

      especially as this year looks not to be any more promising, stress-wise….

      • 6 September, 2011 3:57 pm

        Argh, my sympathies. As far as I can be sympathetic when I’m one of the ones asking stuff of you…

your thoughts?

