Skip to content

And another Silverback shows his ass (in which I employ a lot of swears)

13 August, 2011

Jesus Effing Christ.

I thought I’d manage to distance myself from Silverback assholes who talk complete bollocks. Tank you, David Starkey, for proving me wrong. Proof positive that you can get a job as a pundit by being a Silverback, and still come off as a total fucking racist eejit. Actually, there are other words that come to mind, but I am trying to retrain myself to avoid my knee-jerk reaction of using gendered adjectives as insults.

I hope to hell that this little performance removes any chance of his getting an OBE ever. Because … well … Jinty Nelson vs. David Starky? like going to Zaire and replacing Ali or Frazier with Homer Simpson.

and by the way? It is exactly this kind of shit I was grousing about in my last post. I’ll take a side of clueless asshole with my unchecked privilege, please.

ETA: Belle points out that actual Silverbacks are pretty damned cool. They are indeed. And nothing like the human sort. But I can’t think of another good word for that particular group…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 August, 2011 6:30 am

    Ugh. Great.

  2. 13 August, 2011 8:28 am

    Tragically, he is already a CBE so you’ll have to hope he never gets a peerage.

  3. 13 August, 2011 10:15 am

    That is fairly horrifying. I had hoped UK TV was proof against that sort of thing. On behalf of my nation I’d like to apologise for David Starkey, just generally; he should not have been allowed to get this way.

  4. 13 August, 2011 2:04 pm

    Yuck. But let’s be fair. Silverback gorillas are pretty cool, and if they could talk, would NEVER spout such $hit. Can we just call Starkey a particularly vile kind of glossy prig (Privileged, Racist, Ignorant Goober)? I do like gorillas, and would hate to use a term that implies they would stoop this low.

  5. 13 August, 2011 3:43 pm

    Weirdly, I think I said that on Fb, but not here. But yes, Actual Silverbacks are cool.

your thoughts?

