Skip to content

Ok, this just pisses me right off

5 August, 2011

So I went to WordPress to start a new Blogenspiel.

Some [grouchy expletives deleted] stole my name.

Seriously.

I very much doubt it was the result of independent thought, and the address is blogenspiel, but the name of the blog is something else. Most annoying? It hasn’t been updated in two years.

grrrr.

Nice way to get traffic, though.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 5 August, 2011 4:36 pm

    I don't suppose you could contact her and see if she'd be willing to take hers down…..alternatively, you could call it anotherdamnedmedievalist.wordpress, with blogenspiel in the title, etc. so it would still get found. I doubt anyone's got that one yet.

  2. 5 August, 2011 5:05 pm

    I did! But seriously, it's just rude. I do hope that the woman has stopped blogging by choice, and not by accident or some other horrible thing, and left a comment. But I don't see that anybody would take a name that already has a real life and internet presence unless they were trying to get more traffic — or unless they were particularly clueless.The blog was also operating under a CC license, so I think that there are problems there.

  3. jliedl permalink
    5 August, 2011 7:09 pm

    Sorry to hear about that with the blog name landgrab, but I’m glad to see you’re hear at WordPress, too. It is a good and stable platform that won’t give you the crazies that Google’s trying to impose with its “One Name to Rule Them All” policy.

  4. 22 September, 2011 6:27 pm

    Many articles in several medieval studies at http://crusades-medieval.blogspot.com

your thoughts?

