Skip to content

Reasearch Bleg

24 April, 2009

Research Bleg

Um … D’oh!

You know how sometimes, you write a paper abstract, and then put it away till a couple of weeks before the conference, only to find it’s not exactly what you remembered saying you’d write?

Or does that only happen to me?

Anyway, I spent part of the day googling references for an upcoming paper, and midway through, realised that actually, I’d only been googling for a tangential part of the paper. Oops.

I have a fantastic blogroll here, and am planning on mining it. But if you can think of people not on that blogroll who are pseudonymous bloggers with a voice that you think of as a legitimate academic voice (and I’m all for a wide range of academic voices), please shoot their urls my way.

I’m as interested in blogs by grad students and contingent faculty as in blogs by full-timers. Blogs my junior people and those who are lone medieval (or other) people on their campuses are especially welcome.

Thanks!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 April, 2009 8:24 pm

    Are you only looking for English-y blogs, or medieval blogs? I’m a grad student (English, Renaissance lit) with a blog that has only recently started doing more academic sorts of things, but if you are interested… I also know a few other grad student blogs in other fields, like philosophy, if those are of interest.

  2. 27 April, 2009 7:50 pm

    I’d like to have as many examples from medieval fields as possible, but by no means am I being exclusive. Thanks!

  3. 27 April, 2009 7:58 pm

    Welp, I’m slooooowllly blogging my way through my accumulated research on early MA (focus on the Burgundians). Can be found here

  4. 30 April, 2009 6:31 am

    Speaking of blegs, I hope you’ll come back to CT and explain your remark about Power: since I’m not in the field, I really don’t know if the work’s considered largely reliable or creaky and old (which I suspect). I’m just shooting from the hip out there….

  5. 1 May, 2009 4:35 am

    Thanks, ADM!

  6. 3 May, 2009 4:46 am

    How about me? I'm sorry I'll have to miss your session, but I'm chairing one at that time—so you can say anything you want about me & I'll never know.

  7. 3 May, 2009 9:54 pm

    Dame E — you’re on my list, and I hope to see you at the meetup!

  8. 10 May, 2009 6:32 pm

    Thanks, Larry!

your thoughts?

