Skip to content

Again with the perfume

18 July, 2008

Again with the perfume

Same woman, same perfume. And there are plenty of seats, so why sit next to me?

I ask you, gentle readers … is there a polite way to ask someone to take their perfumed (I think it may actually be a very floral/powder spray deodorant, come to think of it) self somewhere else?

Yeah, I could move, but I always sit here and I was here first.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 July, 2008 1:02 pm

    no, I don’t think there is a polite way. šŸ™‚

  2. 18 July, 2008 4:00 pm

    If you worked in the same office or such with her and saw her every day, you could say something, but since you could move, I think you’re stuck…moving.

  3. 21 July, 2008 1:42 pm

    “Your perfume is really lovely, and I wish I could enjoy it, but sometimes scents trigger migraines for me and I’m afraid this might be one of those times. I hate to ask, but would you mind . . .” “moving,” or if you’re really brave, “using less of it?” I have done this, though, admittedly, to a nice person I already knew. You could leave a note on her desk when she gets up, if you don’t want to have the conversation.

your thoughts?