Skip to content

I think the phrase is, "WTF??"

8 December, 2007

I think the phrase is, “WTF??”

Wikipedia founder Jimmy Wales has said teachers who refuse younger students access to the site are “bad educators”.

Is there enough snerk in the world to respond to this adequately? I think not.

ETA How do people feel about a Saturday morning breakfast?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 December, 2007 6:50 am

    Because all young children need to be exposed by their teachers to information sources vulnerable to vandalism, hacking, cliche, obscurantism, anti-intellectualism, rapid change, and a complete lack of editorial vision. Yeah, that’s what our public schools have been missing! And to think, I’ve kept my six-year-old off the computer almost entirely! What a bad parent I am: we’ll start using wikipedia for bedtime stories posthaste.

  2. 8 December, 2007 11:34 pm

    Recently I checked the entries for some topics I study.I noticed that almost all the listed References were also sources unsuitable for student citation.

  3. 9 December, 2007 12:22 am

    With my field, it’s hit or miss.

  4. 9 December, 2007 10:52 am

    I’d like to know how we are supposed to keep them away.

  5. 9 December, 2007 4:34 pm

    VCE — I don’t think we can. But I do think we can demonstrate why it’s not trustworthy and dock them in the same way we would for using other encyclopedias.

your thoughts?

