Skip to content

Still here, thanks!

31 July, 2007

Still here, thanks!

Readjusting is always fun. Really, I need a work place. I could go to the office, but the a/c is still not fixed, and for some reason, when I went in to check the other day, someone had bagged up lots of my possessions — I hope to protect them rather than to culture mildew. The big news here is that I’m all of a sudden giving a paper at a conference I had not planned on attending. This means coming up with a title today! And I finished the pedagogical article. Except that somehow, I didn’t save it. Seriously. I’ve never managed to lose an entire day’s work before and not have at least one backup and a hard copy. So I’ve spent yesterday and will spend much of today re-creating what I lost. Hence the absence of blogging much.

Updated list to come soon …

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 August, 2007 1:43 pm

    Work space: see if your campus library has a space that is both private and workable. As to the open door policy: reserve time to self/research, and post that. Then close the door. Anybody gives you grief, tell ’em you’re doing research!These are my own resolutions for same problem. I’m hoping they’ll work.

  2. 6 August, 2007 12:05 am

    Welcome! I am going to try that, but SLAC has a very clear policy that faculty should be available, anytime, anywhere. Seriously, I have been out in Dabbaville with colleagues, and run into students, and there is an expectation that, if the student has an issue, we will take a little time to at least set up an appointment. This year I think that I will try to encourage students to at least respect my “no students in the 30 minutes before class” rule. Mostly, I don’t care. Student visits are usually drive-bys, people who want to ask two questions and get out. But there are some campers this year, and they need to make appointments.

  3. 6 August, 2007 12:06 am

    Oh, and our library has no such space. Too bad — it’s one place I’m almost sure not to run into students 😉

your thoughts?

