Skip to content

notetaking software

2 December, 2006

Note taking software?

Hi all — does anyone use notetaking sofware? I’m awful at taking notes on my computer — partially because it’s uncomfortable, partially because taking notes longhand on paper seems to fix things into my brain in a more permanent way. Nevertheless, paper is a bit more cumbersome and definitely heavier. So, I have questions for you denizens of the internets:

  1. How do you take notes? (format)
  2. If you use note taking software, what do you use and why?
  3. If you take notes on a computer, but don’t use software made for notetaking, what do you use and why?

I have just downloaded the new version of Scribe from the GMU site, which seems much more user-friendly and much less clunky than the old version. Does anyone else have specific comments about Scribe?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 December, 2006 7:53 pm

    Ooh, I’ll be interested to see the answers you get.I actually do a little of both – I take a lot of notes by hand, usually in Moleskine notebooks or the like, though sometimes Circa notebooks from Levenger. Sometimes I take notes on the computer. When I do, I just use MS Word and keep them organized in different files according to source. If I own a book, I usually just write all over it and dispense with formal notes!In any case, I am NOT a model of any kind in this matter.

  2. 2 December, 2006 8:19 pm

    It depends. If I’m working on something where I’ll need to find it again, I use the computer. I write the notes in Word and then (if the spirit moves me), I put them into Endnote. If I’m at a conference just listening to people (which isn’t what you mean, I don’t think), I write on paper because using a laptop or PDA with keyboard seems to attract attention, though notes on a computer would be easier to find after the conference is over. If you find some good note-taking software, please tell us!

  3. 2 December, 2006 9:31 pm

    This is a Mac only thing, but I wholeheartedly recommend Soho Notes.

  4. 2 December, 2006 9:50 pm

    I wholeheartedly recommend Soho Notes, also. I use it all the time now that I’m in a PhD program. It’s much less cumbersome and way more searchable than using Word.Just my two cents.

  5. 2 December, 2006 10:40 pm

    I take reading notes on the computer, but just in my Word program, which is still searchable, and so seems to be all I need.D. takes notes in DevonThink and loves it. She keeps trying to get me to switch over, but my simpler system is still working for me, so I’ve been resistant.

  6. 2 December, 2006 10:45 pm

    I’m with New Kid, though I really ought to test drive some of the software packages out there, because it’s not really enough for bigger projects.

  7. 3 December, 2006 6:43 pm

    I’m still completely longhand; I write all my notes out on unlined, white paper (either in a sketch notebook or just computer paper). Then I paper clip and file them away.

your thoughts?

