Skip to content

Doing All The Things

22 April, 2014

Holy crap! I don’t know where time has gone, but gone it has. I have finally managed to clear the big stumbling block off my to-do list, and am now deep in the “OMG I am overcommitted and have no time!” phase of the sabbatical. I’ve re-discovered my total inability to impose structure on my life, which is depressing. On the other hand, I have been reasonably successful at getting back into a running program (although I am now having some foot pain…), have lost 4+ kilos (which means I only have about 12 to go…), and have managed to get sleep on a regular basis. I have spent time with friends. I have gone sight-seeing in East Anglia, and saw things I had not seen before. They reminded me how much I really wanted to be an Anglo-Normanist.

And yet… I have papers to write! Lots of them. I have to have one paper done for Kalamazoo in two weeks, and (more importantly, because the stakes are bigger and it’s a bigger project) I am giving a paper to All the Scary Scholars in a month. During which time, I will have gone home and to the Zoo. 

As part of all of this, I am going to re-commit to writing here more. I forget that it helps me to get my thoughts in order, and right now, I need order to my thoughts. 

Commence panicking … NOW.

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. J Liedl permalink
    22 April, 2014 5:25 pm

    *waves* You can do it. In fact, you’re doing it and well so cut yourself some slack from the perfectionist planning. What you do IS good and it will be.

  2. 1 May, 2014 5:34 pm

    Hey there! I’m still sort of alive. Are we meeting at the ‘zoo? Will there be Sunday brunch?

your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

