Skip to content

Screw Admin and Marking — I’m going to write something.

13 November, 2013

Actually, I have no idea what I am going to write. I just felt really rebellious, and thought, “Well, I have a huge pile of crap to get through, and have no time to blog, and I just don’t care.” Honestly, I thought at the beginning of October that Things Would Change: I would be caught up, and my classes would be going well, and I would be running regularly, and I would be blogging regularly. That hasn’t happened, obviously. I thought that a particularly troublesome and stressful situation at work had finally just died and its corpse had been well and truly buried, but it dug itself out of the ground and has been looming, zombie-like, at the edges of my world for most of the semester. Unfortunately, some of the shorter-term treatments for the resultant anxiety and depression are not conducive to feeling full of energy, nor even to getting out and exercising, which would help. So, for the umpteenth time in my life, I’m buried in work, and looking out at a beautiful, sunny, cold day and saying to the world and the pile of work, “Fuck it. I don’t care if it sets me back a little further in the short run. I need to write. I need to read things that aren’t prep. I need to run. I need to sleep.” After all, as my Superdean reminds me, the academic term only lasts so long, and we always manage to get through in the end — even if sometimes the end isn’t pretty!

 

So I’m letting this serve as a sort of manifesto to myself, a reminder that blogging and reading blogs, that researching and writing, and that conversations with interesting colleagues over the internet is a good thing, and there are things I would like to put out for discussion. My goal is to write 500 words before breakfast on these various topics, and blog them. I’m aiming for daily posts for the rest of the month, but I’ll take it one day at a time.

 

Some of the topics: 

  • Seriously, I’m now middle-aged and/or I don’t need to put up with certain kinds of behavior anymore
  • cooking
  • The gap between what faculty think their job is and what students think their job is, and vice versa.
  • Traditionally non-academic programs developing postgraduate study — does anyone know what they are doing?
  • In general, articulating expectations in ways that they are understood. 
  • Teaching methods
  • Teaching World Civ
  • assessment
  • movies/TV
  • Cats
  • collegiality
  • career stuff
  • being a middle-aged academic whose career seems to be turning into something that feels real and right. 
  • Advising students
  • politics, perhaps
  • Student athletics

And those things aren’t counting responses I would like to make to some of my fellow bloggers! 

Fingers crossed? Keep them that way, and I’ll see you tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. J Liedl permalink
    13 November, 2013 11:59 pm

    Your life and mine are running in some broad parallels, right down to saying “screw today’s marking plan, I must write!”

  2. 14 November, 2013 9:52 pm

    Best of luck – and will try and look in tomorrow, when I get fed up with Hincmar.

  3. 16 November, 2013 10:09 pm

    I’m happy to hear about the “real and right”!

your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

